Ham with Apricot Ginger Glaze

This Easter I was on point to make the Easter Ham. Honestly it might sound scary if you’ve never made one but it’s a pretty hard thing to mess up. They come pre cooked and cut generally. As long as you don’t burn it you’re golden.

I always get the bone in because I think it tastes better. And I’ve read recommendations for getting ‘in natural juices’ versus anything else.

As much as I’d love to take credit for the glaze recipe I made, I cannot. I got it here, and I highly recommend it. All of the details are posted in her post, but here is a quick list of the recipe:

Place the ham in a baking pan and pour in 1/2 inch of orange juice or mango juice. I did orange juice. Cover with tin foil, and cook about 15-20 min a lb at 275 degrees. In the meantime:

1. A jar of Apricot Preserve (or Mango if you choose) – 2 cups

2. 3/4 cup of Brown Sugar

3. 1 teaspoon ground clove

4. Fresh grated ginger – 1 tsp

5. I added a small bit of corn starch to make it really thick but you don’t have to.

Heat it all over low heat, stirring, then just let it cool while the ham cooks. Baste the Ham when it’s done cooking and put it back in the oven uncovered for 10-15 min on 415 degree oven. It’ll get the outside crispy and sugary.

I poured just a bit of the orange/ham drippings into the glaze when it was all done too just for a bit of an orange flavor. I’m going to save the drippings and make rice with them later this week along with an asian orange chicken dish. Don’t want to waste it!

Now just cut the ham and serve with the glaze. My friend brought over some asparagus, mashed potatoes, and a beet/goat cheese salad. Check out this plate of deliciousness.

Happy Easter!


Leave a Reply

